Commonwealth Master’s Scholarships for Developing Commonwealth Countries

The Commonwealth Scholarship Commission in the UK (CSC) oversees a UK government scholarship initiative that aligns with international development objectives. Guided by the Commonwealth Scholarship and Fellowship Plan (CSFP), this program underscores the UK’s enduring commitment to the Commonwealth.

Supported by the UK Foreign, Commonwealth & Development Office (FCDO), Commonwealth Master’s Scholarships empower gifted and driven individuals to acquire the expertise and capabilities necessary for sustainable development. These scholarships are designed for those who may not have the means to pursue studies in the UK.

APPLY ALSO: British Chevening Scholarships in UK for International Students

Commonwealth Master’s Scholarships are available to applicants from eligible low and middle-income Commonwealth nations, enabling them to pursue full-time taught Master’s programs at a UK university.


To qualify for these scholarships, applicants must meet the following criteria:

  • Hold citizenship in or have been granted refugee status by an eligible Commonwealth nation, or be a British Protected Person.
  • Maintain permanent residency in an eligible Commonwealth country.
  • Be prepared to commence academic studies in the UK at the beginning of the UK academic year in September 2024.
  • Possess, by September 2024, a first degree of at least upper second-class (2:1) honors standard, or a lower second-class degree along with a relevant postgraduate qualification, typically a Master’s degree. The CSC typically does not fund a second Master’s degree, and if applicants are seeking this, they must justify undertaking such a study.
  • Lack the financial means to pursue studies in the UK without this scholarship.
  • Submit all required supporting documentation in the specified format.

Check Also: NL Scholarship for Non-EEA International Students

Eligible Countries

Please note that only candidates from the eligible countries listed below can apply for Commonwealth Master’s Scholarships.

  • Bangladesh
  • Belize
  • Botswana
  • Cameroon
  • Dominica
  • Eswatini
  • Fiji
  • Gabon
  • Ghana
  • Grenada
  • Guyana
  • India
  • Jamaica
  • Kenya
  • Kiribati
  • Lesotho
  • Malawi
  • Malaysia
  • Maldives
  • Mauritius
  • Montserrat
  • Mozambique
  • Namibia
  • Nauru
  • Nigeria
  • Pakistan
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Rwanda
  • Saint Helena
  • Saint Lucia
  • Saint Vincent and The Grenadines
  • Samoa
  • Sierra Leone
  • Solomon Islands
  • South Africa
  • Sri Lanka
  • Tanzania
  • The Gambia
  • Togo
  • Tonga
  • Tuvalu
  • Uganda
  • Vanuatu
  • Zambia

How to Submit Your Application for Commonwealth Master’s Scholarships

Applicants should anticipate receiving notification about the outcome by July 2024. The CSC will correspond with all applicants via email, and it is crucial that applicants regularly monitor all folders of their email accounts, including junk mail and spam folders. Failure to respond within a specified timeframe may result in the withdrawal of a scholarship offer.